May 2015

Get into the driver’s seat of the 24-hours race!

ROWE Motoroil, the powerful German lubricant brand which is involved in Squash for many years now (engaged at the Worms Bundesliga team, Mohamed Elshorbagy, Nick Matthew, Greg Gaultier, and Miguel Angel Rodriguez as brand ambassadors and several events) gives all the squash and speed fans the chance of getting in the driver’s seat at the famous 24-hour race at the Nürburgring in Germany.

The best perspective during the 24-hour race will be a thrilling on-board footage to show the world’s toughest race live from the driver’s perspective of ROWE RACING’s two Mercedes gullwing SLS AMG GT3s.

From Saturday (16 May, 15.00 hrs) untill Sunday (17 May, 17.00 hrs, German time), the stream can be accessed from all over the world in English and German at the on-board camera.

Paderborn German Champion again!

For the 11th time German Bundesliga team Paderborn, led by World No7 Simon Rösner and flying Columbian Miguel Angel Rodriguez (World No5), won the league play-offs.

They beat long-year rival Black&White Worms 3:1, who have missed their top players Nick Matthew (injury) and Mohamed Elshorbagy (British Open preparation).

Paderborner SC bt Black & White Worms 3:1
Pos.: 1 Simon Rösner – Jens Schoor 11-7, 11-5, 11-5
Pos.: 2 Miguel Angel Rodriguez – David Palmer 11-4, 12-14, 11-7, 11-5
Pos.: 3 Raphael Kandra – Tim Weber 11-8, 11-2, 11-6
Pos.: 4 Lennart Osthoff – Carsten Schoor 6-11, 5-11, 5-11

France beat England for European team tilte!

Competing in the event for the 41st time since 1975, and making their 15th appearance in the final, France finally won the men’s European Team Championship for the 1st time after beating favourites and defending champions England in a dramatic final in Herning, Denmark.

England reached the final for the 23rd year in a row and where on course to win their 40th title. However, French No.1 Gregory Gaultier, the World No.3 making his 15th appearance in the event, put the 2nd seeds into the lead with a 4-game win over Peter Barker – and team-mate Mathieu Castagnet extended the lead after surviving a 112-minute marathon over England’s 2nd string Daryl Selby.

England stalwart James Willstrop reduced the deficit after fighting back from 1/2 down to see off Gregoire Marche in 90 minutes – leaving England needing to win the 4th match 3/0 to have the chance of retaining the title.

England debutante Chris Simpson duly took the opener, but when Lucas Serme clinched the 2nd 11-7, the match was abandoned and France’s historic and long-awaited title breakthrough was achieved!

Germany became 3rd after beating the Scots 3/1 in the 3rd place play-off and England won the women’s trophy for the 37th time after beating France 2/1 in the final.

Men’s final:
[2] FRANCE bt [1] ENGLAND 9-6 on games countback
Gregory Gaultier bt Peter Barker 12-10, 11-8, 10-12, 11-3 (64m)
Mathieu Castagnet bt Daryl Selby 6-11, 11-9, 11-4, 14-12 (112m)
Gregoire Marche lost to James Willstrop 5-11, 11-7, 11-6, 8-11, 8-11 (90m)
Lucas Serme v Chris Simpson 5-11, 11-7 (match unfinished)

3rd place play-off:
[3] GERMANY bt [4] SCOTLAND 9-6 on games countback
Simon Rösner bt Alan Clyne 3-11, 11-3, 11-4, 11-9 (59m)
Raphael Kandra lost to Greg Lobban 5-11, 7-11, 11-5, 7-11 (57m)
Jens Schoor v Douglas Kempsell 12-10, 9-11, 11-6 (match unfinished)
Rudi Rohrmuller bt Kevin Moran 11-4, 11-8, 10-12, 11-8 (57m)

Women’s final:
[1] ENGLAND bt [2] FRANCE 2/1
Sarah-Jane Perry bt Coline Aumard 11-4, 11-6, 2-11, 11-6 (36m)
Alison Waters lost to Camille Serme 7-11, 4-11, 11-9, 5-11 (45m)
Emma Beddoes bt Laura Pomportes 11-5, 11-5, 11-4 (28m)

3rd place play-off:
[4] IRELAND bt [6] DENMARK 2/1
Madeline Perry bt Line Hansen 13-11, 11-9, 11-8
Aisling Blake bt Sally Skaarenborg 11-6, 11-5, 11-6
Ciara Moloney lost to Mathilde Lauridsen 7-11, 3-11