Shabana takes Detroit Title as Darwish limps out!

The title is Shabana's second PSA World Tour victory of the month after successfully defending his ATCO PSA World Series Finals crown three weeks ago in London.

In the 2013 Motor City Open Egypt’s Amr Shabana assured that his name will be engraved on the trophy for the 1st time after fellow countryman Karim Darwish retired (11-4, 2-6, ret.) midway through the 2nd game of the final in Detroit, USA.

The win takes the illustrious four-time world champion from Cairo’s career PSA World Tour title haul to 31 – stretching his lead as the top 20 player with the most titles.

“It was very sore before the match. I thought when I warmed up it was going to get better, but after lunging a few times in the second game I think I pulled a calf muscle,” said Darwish later.

“I knew he had a tough, physical game yesterday against Omar Mosaad. And I knew if I had a good start it would help me a lot,” said the new champion Shabana.

[4] Amr Shabana (EGY) bt [2] Karim Darwish (EGY) 11-4, 2-6 ret. (25m)

[4] Amr Shabana (EGY) bt [1] Mohamed El Shorbagy (EGY) 13-11, 11-5, 6-11, 11-7 (65m)

[2] Karim Darwish (EGY) bt [3] Omar Mosaad (EGY) 14-12, 8-11, 8-11, 11-6, 11-5 (97m)

[1] Mohamed El Shorbagy (EGY) bt Ong Beng Hee (MAS) 5-11, 11-9, 11-6, 14-12 (75m)
[4] Amr Shabana (EGY) bt Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) 11-6, 11-7, 11-3 (39m)
[3] Omar Mosaad (EGY) bt Saurav Ghosal (IND) 11-6, 11-8, 11-8 (56m)
[2] Karim Darwish (EGY) bt Stephen Coppinger (RSA) 11-5, 11-4, 6-11, 11-3 (53m)

1st round:
[1] Mohamed El Shorbagy (EGY) bt [Q] Abdullah Al Muzayen (KUW) 11-9, 11-6, 11-5
Ong Beng Hee (MAS) bt [Q] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) 6-11, 14-12, 11-7, 12-10
Miguel Angel Rodriguez (COL) bt [Q] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA) 12-14, 11-0, 11-6, 14-12
[4] Amr Shabana (EGY) bt Nicolas Mueller (SUI) 11-9, 11-8, 11-7
[3] Omar Mosaad (EGY) bt [Q] Marwan El Shorbagy (EGY) 15-13, 11-3, 11-7
Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt Alan Clyne (SCO) 6-11, 11-7, 11-2, 11-3
Stephen Coppinger (RSA) bt Hisham Mohd Ashour (EGY) 11-3, 11-7, 11-2
[2] Karim Darwish (EGY) bt Olli Tuominen (FIN) 11-3, 11-3, 11-7