Nicol David and Nick Matthew Players of Year!

Nicol David (pic) and Nick Matthew (pic) were honoured as Players of the Year at the annual World Squash Awards which attracted more than 150 leading figures from the squash world in Vanderbilt Hall at Grand Central in New York. The 6th year of the prestigious awards event was the first to be staged outside of the UK. Nick Matthew had an outstanding year, winning the World Open, two Commonwealth Gold medals, and finishing the year as world No1. If the men’s award was clear cut then there can never have been any doubt that Nicol David, the Malaysian would collect the WISPA Player of the Year award for the 6th year in a row! All awards winners: Nick Matthew – PSA 2010 Player of the Year; Nicol David – WISPA 2010 Player of the Year; Mohamed El Shorbagy – PSA 2010 Young Player of the Year; Nour El Tayeb – WISPA 2010 Young Player of the Year Kasey Brown – WISPA 2010 Most Improved Player of the Year; Greg Park – ISDA 2010 Rookie of the Year; Damien Mudge – ISDA 2010 Team of the Year; Frank Stella – Services To Squash Award; Mark Talbott – Lifetime Achievement Award.